Werther of the World

Selections from Brahms’ magnificent and tragic Piano Quartet in C Minor, also known as the “Werther Quartet”, and complementary works including Elgar’s Salut d’Amour.

Sonya, Sweeney, piano
Adam Nelson, violin
Olivier Philippe Auguste, viola
Gabriela Ruiz, cello


Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 5
Franz Schubert: Serenade from Schwanengesang, D 957 No. 4
Robert Schumann: “Träumerei”, from Kinderszenen, Op. 15 No. 7
Astor Piazzolla: Libertango
Carlos Gardel: Por una Cabeza
Edward Elgar: Salut d’Amour (Liebesgruß), Op. 12
Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 60 (selections)